If you have decided that a SaaS boilerplate is the right call, the next question is which one. This comparison covers four kits that come up most often in that search: ShipFast, Gravity, supastarter, and our own Prime SaaS.
One thing to say before anything else: we make Prime SaaS, so this is not a neutral review. What we can do is apply the same criteria to every product, take the facts from each product's own website, and tell you plainly where another kit is the better fit. Where a product's site does not state something, the table says "not listed" rather than guessing.
How we compared them
The criteria are the ones from our evaluation guide: what stack you will be writing every day, what the license actually costs over time, what is included beyond auth and checkout, whether there are tests you can run before you change anything, and what happens when you get stuck.
Prices are list prices in US dollars as shown on each site on the verification date at the end of this post. ShipFast and supastarter both showed launch or coupon discounts at the time; those change, so check the current page before you buy.
| Prime SaaS | ShipFast | Gravity | supastarter | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stack | React + Node.js API, PostgreSQL | Next.js, MongoDB or Supabase | React + Node.js, MySQL, Postgres, MongoDB and more | Next.js, Nuxt or TanStack Start, Prisma or Drizzle |
| Price (one-time) | $99.99 Starter, $149.99 Professional | $199 Starter, $249 All-in | $199 Starter, $299 Pro, $499 Elite | $349 Solo, $799 Startup, $1,499 Agency |
| Updates | 1 year (Starter) or 3 years (Professional) | Lifetime | 1 year, then $195 to $250 per year to renew | Lifetime |
| Projects per license | Unlimited | Unlimited | 1 to 3 commercial applications, by plan | Unlimited personal, team or client projects, by tier |
| Developer seats | Single developer | Personal or team license, team size not stated | Not stated | 1, 5 or 10, by tier |
| Authentication | Email, magic link, 2FA, Google and Facebook login | Google OAuth and magic links | Email, magic links, social login, 2FA | Email, passkeys, magic links, OAuth, 2FA |
| Payments | Lemon Squeezy or Stripe | Stripe or Lemon Squeezy | Stripe | Stripe, Lemon Squeezy, Polar, Creem, Dodo Payments |
| Teams / multi-tenancy | Accounts, invites, roles, master admin | Not listed | Organisations, invites, roles | Organizations, invites, roles, seat billing |
| Admin area | Yes | Not listed | Yes (Mission Control) | Yes, with user impersonation |
| API keys and webhooks | API keys with scopes, outbound webhooks | Not listed | API keys with throttling | Not listed |
| Background jobs | PostgreSQL-backed queue | Not listed | Not listed | trigger.dev and QStash cron |
| Tests and CI | API integration tests, Cypress E2E and CI/CD (Professional) | Not listed | 40+ integration tests | Playwright configured, GitHub Actions ready |
| Mobile app | No | Not listed | React Native client | Not listed |
| Support | Discord community; priority email on Professional | Discord community | Support included, channel not stated | Priority email (Startup), private Discord (Agency) |
ShipFast
ShipFast is the kit most people have heard of. It is a Next.js boilerplate, available with either the app router or the pages router, in JavaScript or TypeScript, with MongoDB or Supabase for data, Stripe or Lemon Squeezy for payments, and Mailgun or Resend for email. Pricing is $199 for Starter and $249 for All-in, one-time, and the site lists the same feature set for both tiers along with lifetime updates and unlimited projects.
Its strengths are speed to a first launch and the community: a Discord with several thousand members and a leaderboard of launched products. What the site does not list is multi-tenant teams, an admin area, background jobs, or a test suite. If your product is a single-user tool and you want to ship this weekend, that trade-off is reasonable. If customers are companies with several users each, you will be building the accounts layer yourself.
Best for: solo makers shipping single-user products on Next.js who value community and launch speed over infrastructure.
Gravity
Gravity is the closest architecturally to Prime SaaS: a React web client and a Node.js server, both in JavaScript, with support for MySQL, Postgres, MongoDB, and several other databases. It also ships a React Native mobile client, an Astro marketing site template, and an admin app called Mission Control. Auth covers email, magic links, social login, and 2FA; payments are Stripe, including seat and usage billing; and the site lists more than forty integration tests.
Pricing is $199, $299, or $499 one-time, and the license covers one to three commercial applications depending on the plan. Updates are included for one year, after which renewal costs $195 per year if you renew before expiry or $250 after. That renewal is the number to factor in: over three years, Gravity costs more than its sticker price if you want to keep pulling updates.
Best for: teams that need a mobile app alongside the web product, or that want the widest choice of databases.
supastarter
supastarter is the most feature-dense of the four, and priced accordingly. It is TypeScript-first and available for Next.js, Nuxt, or TanStack Start, with Prisma or Drizzle for data and a long list of payment providers. Beyond auth with passkeys and 2FA, it includes organizations with seat-based billing, a super-admin area with user impersonation, internationalization, AI adapters, an MDX blog and docs site, background jobs via trigger.dev, S3-compatible storage, Playwright end-to-end tests, and GitHub Actions.
Pricing is $349 for Solo (one developer, lifetime updates), $799 for Startup (five seats, priority email support, a consulting call), and $1,499 for Agency (ten seats, client projects, white-label, a private Discord channel). All tiers are one-time.
Best for: teams already committed to the Next.js and TypeScript ecosystem who want the most features out of the box and have the budget for it.
Prime SaaS
Prime SaaS is a React front end with a separate Node.js REST API and PostgreSQL, written in JavaScript. The split between client and API is the main architectural difference from the Next.js kits: the API can serve a mobile app or third-party integrations without the web app in the loop, and each side can be deployed and scaled on its own.
It includes email, magic link, 2FA, and Google and Facebook login; multi-tenant accounts with invitations and roles; a master admin area; Lemon Squeezy or Stripe billing; transactional email; API keys with scopes; outbound webhooks with signed deliveries; a PostgreSQL-backed job queue; file uploads; and a Next.js landing page. The Professional plan adds API integration tests, Cypress end-to-end tests, and a CI/CD pipeline.
Pricing is $99.99 for Starter with one year of updates and community support, or $149.99 for Professional with three years of updates and priority email support. Both are one-time purchases for a single developer with unlimited projects, including client work.
Best for: developers who prefer a conventional React client and REST API over a full-stack framework, products where customers are teams rather than individuals, and buyers who want tests included.
Which one should you pick?
- You want the fastest possible launch of a single-user product on Next.js: ShipFast.
- You are already deep in Next.js and TypeScript and want the maximum feature list: supastarter, if the price fits.
- You need a mobile app from day one, or a database other than PostgreSQL: Gravity.
- You want a React client with a separate Node.js API, multi-tenant accounts, and a test suite, at the lowest one-time price: Prime SaaS.
- Updates matter to you over several years: compare the update terms, not just the sticker price. ShipFast and supastarter include lifetime updates; Gravity renews annually; Prime SaaS includes one or three years depending on the plan.
The honest summary is that all four will get a conventional SaaS product to market far faster than starting from an empty repository. The right choice is mostly about which stack you want to live in and whether your customers are individuals or teams.
Verified on October 20, 2026 against each product's public website. Prices and features change; if you spot something out of date, let us know and we will correct it.